Missbruk och misshandel av barn tidigt i livet …

January 7, 2016 § 2 Comments

ace_pyramid_home

Apropå KOL. Person jag känner till dog troligen igår i sviterna efter KOL? Sista bloggpostningen i början av december 2015:

“Att leva med KOL är en intressant upplevelse. När kroppen tar över och du kan inte styra förloppet.”

I mars 2014 började det bli riktigt allvarligt. Så då rökte hen fortfarande, trots att hon länge vetat att hon var sjuk:

“Jag har själv sett det på röntgen och datortomografi i förra veckan. Så nu vet jag. Jag har visserligen fattat det för länge sedan, men man försöker alltid förtränga saker in i det längsta. Jag har rökt i 46 år så vad kan man begära?”

nikotinmissbrukareI

Mina båda morbröder och min morfar slutade tvärt med rökningen. Morfar sen han fått en hjärnblödning strax efter sen han fyllt 70 år, min äldsta morbror sen han opererat fem kranskärl akut. Den senare har precis fyllt 90 år och morfar blev 87 år. Yngsta morbror är 80 år.

Jag har personer nära mig som verkar vara nikotinmissbrukare och trots förändringar i lungorna som tyder på begynnande KOL fortsätter att röka. 😦 Vet att barnmisshandel skett här. 😦

ACE-studien i Kalifornien listar hälsoriskbeteenden som följd av svåra upplevelser tidigt i livet.

“Adverse childhood experiences and smoking during adolescence and adulthood”:

“RESULTS: 

At least 1 of 8 categories of adverse childhood experiences was reported by 63% of respondents. After adjusting for age, sex, race, and education, each category showed an increased risk for each smoking behavior, and these risks were comparable for each category of adverse childhood experiences.

Compared with those reporting no adverse childhood experiences, persons reporting 5 or more categories had substantially higher risks of early smoking initiation (odds ratio [OR], 5.4; 95% confidence interval [CI], 4.1-7.1), ever smoking (OR, 3.1; 95% CI, 2.6-3.8), current smoking (OR, 2.1; 95% CI, 1.6-2.7), and heavy smoking (OR, 2.8; 95% CI, 1.9-4.2).

Each relationship between smoking behavior and the number of adverse childhood experiences was strong and graded (P<.001). For any given number of adverse childhood experiences, recent problems with depressed affect were more common among smokers than among nonsmokers.

CONCLUSIONS:

Smoking was strongly associated with adverse childhood experiences. Primary prevention of adverse childhood experiences and improved treatment of exposed children could reduce smoking among both adolescents and adults.

Skyddande faktorer mot dålig behandling av barn:

“Protective Factors for Child Maltreatment

Protective factors buffer children from being abused or neglected. These factors exist at various levels. Protective factors have not been studied as extensively or rigorously as risk factors. However, identifying and understanding protective factors are equally as important as researching risk factors.

There is scientific evidence to support the following protective factor:

Family Protective Factors

  • Supportive family environment and social networks

Several other potential protective factors have been identified. Research is ongoing to determine whether the following factors do indeed buffer children from maltreatment.

Family Protective Factors

  • Nurturing parenting skills
  • Stable family relationships
  • Household rules and child monitoring
  • Parental employment
  • Adequate housing
  • Access to health care and social services
  • Caring adults outside the family who can serve as role models or mentors

Community Protective Factors

  • Communities that support parents and take responsibility for preventing abuse”

“Child Maltreatment: Risk and Protective Factors

A combination of individual, relational, community, and societal factors contribute to the risk of child maltreatment.

Although children are not responsible for the harm inflicted upon them, certain characteristics have been found to increase their risk of being maltreated.

Risk factors are those characteristics associated with child maltreatment—they may or may not be direct causes.

Risk Factors for Victimization

Individual Risk Factors

  • Children younger than 4 years of age
  • Special needs that may increase caregiver burden (e.g., disabilities, mental retardation, mental health issues, and chronic physical illnesses)

Risk Factors for Perpetration

Individual Risk Factors

  • Parents’ lack of understanding of children’s needs, child development and parenting skills
  • Parents’ history of child maltreatment in family of origin
  • Substance abuse and/or mental health issues including depression in the family
  • Parental characteristics such as young age, low education, single parenthood, large number of dependent children, and low income
  • Nonbiological, transient caregivers in the home (e.g., mother’s male partner)
  • Parental thoughts and emotions that tend to support or justify maltreatment behaviors

Family Risk Factors

  • Social isolation
  • Family disorganization, dissolution, and violence, including intimate partner violence
  • Parenting stress, poor parent-child relationships, and negative interactions

Community Risk Factors

  • Community violence
  • Concentrated neighborhood disadvantage (e.g., high poverty and residential instability, high unemployment rates, and high density of alcohol outlets), and poor social connections.”

Dvs människor utanför familjen inklusive samhället kan skydda!

§ 2 Responses to Missbruk och misshandel av barn tidigt i livet …

  • k says:

    “17/7-02

    Jag var hos läkaren igår. Jag ska testa en ny medicin mot KOL. Den botar inte, bara lindrar. Den behövs bara tas en gång om dagen till skillnad mot de jag har nu som ska tas tre gånger om dagen, vilket ofta ändå bara blir en gång – på morgonen.

    Visst, jag slarvar rejält med att ta min medicin. Det är dumt.

    Sedan fick jag – som vanligt – en utskällning angående min rökning. Tänk att det ska vara så svårt att sluta röka.

    Banta går bra. Hur bra som helst, bara jag kommer igång.

    Men att minska rökningen verkar ogörligt. Det har med motivation att göra. Men varför infinner den inte sig när det gäller rökning? Eller är det så att man är *hooked on the feeling*?

    Det påstås att ämnen tillsätts i cigaretterna som ska göra att rökaren blir än mer beroende av att röka. Cigarettoman – nikotinist, värre än en narkoman eller alkoholist. Det skulle inte förvåna mig.

    Men det är ingen ursäkt. Bara en av många förklaringar? Eller? Jag har rökt i 36 år.

    Varje år röker jag c.a 10500 cig, c.a ett och ett halvt paket om dagen. Multiplicera det med 36 år. Huvaligen! 381240 ciggaretter.

    Hur mycket pengar har inte slösats bort? Hur mycket tjära kan finnas i lungorna? Hur mycket andra gifter har jag inhalerat under årens lopp?

    Det påstås att det finns mängder av cancerogena ämnen i en cigarett och jag tvivlar inte på det. Inte en sekund.

    När ska lungcancern slå till? I år eller om tre år? Hur känns det att dö i lungemfysem? Ändå röker jag. Man kanske borde idiotförklara sig själv? Nej….nu ska jag koka mig en god kopp kaffe och ta en cigg. :-/

    Det är bara friska människor som är villiga
    att medge att de är galna.
    Nora Ephron”

    Och vid denna tidpunkt hade hen väldiga ryggproblem. Hörde detta ihop?

  • […] Se tidigare postning “Missbruk och misshandel av barn tidigt i livet …”: […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Missbruk och misshandel av barn tidigt i livet … at reflektioner och speglingar - Alice Miller II....

meta

